colonial court of admiralty, under the Imperial "Colonial Court of Admiralty Act, 1890." Admiralty districts, presided over by local judges in admiralty of the Exchequer Court, have been established under the above Act (Admiralty Act, 1891), for the provinces of Quebec, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, British Columbia, Prince Edward Island and the "Toronto Admiralty District," the limits of which last are fixed from time to time by the Governor in Council.

46. The Superior courts of the several provinces are constituted as follows: "Ontario—The Supreme Court of Judicature, consisting of two permanent divisions called respectively the High Court of Justice for Ontario and the Court of Appeal for Ontario. The first division is again divided into three parts, having concurrent jurisdiction, Queen's Bench, Common Pleas and Chancery, the first two of which are presided over by a chief justice and two judges for each, and the third of which is composed of a chancellor and three judges. Quebec—The Chief Justice of the Queen's Bench and five puisne judges, and the Chief Justice of the Superior Court and twenty-nine puisne judges, whose residences are fixed in various parts of the province. Nova Scotia and New Brunswick—The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, the Judge in Equity and five and four puisne judges respectively. Manitoba—The Chief Justice and three puisne judges. British Columbia—The Chief Justice and four puisne judges. Prince Edward Island—The Chief Justice and two assistant judges. In the North-west Territories there are five puisne judges of the Supreme Court.

47. There are also county courts with variously limited jurisdiction in all the provinces, but not in the North-west Territories. Police magistrates and justices appointed by the Provincial Governments have their place in the administration of justice.

The Mounted Police Force in the North-west Territories constitute a tribunal of justice, the Commissioner and the Assistant Commissioner having all the powers of a stipendiary magistrate, and the Superintendents being *ex-officio* justices of the peace.

48. Part of the unorganized territories came into the possession of Canada by virtue of the Queen's Order of 23rd June, 1870 (see Statutes of Canada, 1872, p. lxiii.) and part by virtue of the Queen's Order of the 21st July, 1880 (see Statutes of Canada, 1881, pp. ix, x).

As to the portion of the unorganized territory which was by the Queen's Order of June 23rd, 1870, transferred to the Dominion, it may be taken that the law of England as it stood on the 2nd May (o.s.), 1670—the date of the Hudson's Bay Company's charter—applies, subject only to such ordinances as were enacted in reference thereto by the Hudson's Bay Company.

With respect to the other unorganized territories, the title to which was acquired under the Queen's Order of 21st July, 1880, the Order itself states that such territory shall become and be subject to the laws for the time being in force in the Dominion in so far as they be applicable to such territories.